Thread: Help with alfa 156 - central console.

Asleep Now

Red face Help with alfa 156 - central console.

Hi guys,

After 4 hours of reading I must admit you have a really nice place here. Everybody seems to be doing really well when it comes to modifying consoles.... and that's why I'm posting now.

I'm starting my own car pc project. My car is an Alfa 156 '00 (before the face lift). Problem is that the central console has no space for a 7'' touch screen lcd. After doing a bit of research I found some website from china and a couple of pictures of a car just like mine but with the lcd fitted in.

The bloke did it by modifying the console: he got rid of the ashtray and moved the three knobs slightly down to make room for the lcd:

Even more pics:

Now, I bought a central console minutes ago from ebay (also in carbon-fiber style) but I'm not really good at doing this kind of stuff. Is it somebody around here (london or within 40-60 miles) able/willing to help me (will pay, nothing to worry about that) to get it the way I need it?

Its surprisingly easy to do.
    A lot of planning and reading, a dremmel and some fibreglass is all you need. I recommend looking at Gommers fabrication with stretched lycra as it works well. I bought some at my local market for 3 quid.
    I have never used FG before doing mine and I am happy with the results. It is a learning process but if you do F it up you can always buy another console :)

I was thinking about a 156 a few months back so obviously the dash was taken into consideration.

Moving the knobs seemed the sensible choice and relocating them to the ashtray was the only real option.

I'm not sure a CF style coating is a good choice though. You might find it hard to match it up once you've fibreglassed it all in position
    ~Rob - Proving more posts don't mean more knowledge

Asleep Now
    Oh trust me I'm reading

Found some pictures with the things beneath the panel here.