Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob here.... nearly ready to start build!!!

Noob here.... nearly ready to start build!!!

Hi chaps!

Just stumbled on this site while trying to find out about power switches!!

I've got most of the hardware sorted with a few final bits and pieces to arrive...

I'm going to use an old Dell Inspiron 1525 with 4gb ram and dual core 1.2ghz processor as the main PC...

For the moment it's going to just be for music but contemplating gps and a rear view camera (maybee.... very undecided about that!!)

thinking of using Linuxice/openice/nghosts or whatever it's called these days, and installing to a 2gb compact flash with a removable usb hd for storage...

Gonna run it using a 7" monitor which i got for 28 and spent another 5 on a touch panel and 7 on a usb module... just so if anything goes I can get replacements easy enough...

Gonna get a 12v power brick from ebay to run it all and possibly attach a battery as a back up...

Planning to put it in the boot of my primera, along with a phillips DAP 600 that I picked up from a car booty for 10... just have a few extra bit's of info to work out before I can get cracking...

If this needs moving feel free... wasn;t sure where else to put it!

The Questions i have are :

1) Power Button - Can I wire 1 power button to turn on both the Monitor AND the laptop? I know i need a momentary button but does it need to be normally open or normally closed?
    2) How close can I put the laptop & Amp? will there be interference from the amp to the computer or vice versa?
    3) Am I right in thinking using the headphone out of the laptop will mean 2 channels? I'll go into amp wiring later...
    4) Can I use a slot load DVD drive and stretch the cable to the laptop in the boot? or should I run a long usb cable to a hub towards the front of the car?
    5) If i use shielded speaker cable can i run them at the same place as the power wires for the amp etc?