Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: FReeICE help required

  1. #1
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8

    FReeICE help required

    Hi all,

    have been on the sidelines for while now - last time I was running a carPC I was registered on the 'Darkside' but having read the posts and followed the 'history' I have found digital car to be more my bag.

    I came across FreeICE whilst I was deciding what front end to put on the new PC and was very impressed. I have installed FI and Sygic Drive and added some Icons and background stuff and am really pleased with the results. FI runs great on the PC but as I was getting ready to move the PC to the truck things started going astray.

    This is where I really need so me help from the enlightened ones - As soon as I set the PC to boot straight into FI it has caused me problems. FI starts OK and all the apps seem to run OK but it starts with the audio muted and when you press either the mute/unmute buttton or either of the volume controls it throws up a 'runtime error '9''.

    This happens whether I start FI from a shortcut in the startup menu or if it is started instead of explorer in the registry. Once I have set the PC to boot straight into FI the only way to get it working properly again is to replace the fi.config file with CDR's original config and re-edit.

    Any help you peeps can offer would be greatly received - don't wont to go back down the RR route now that I have 'seen the light'.

  2. #2
    DC Organiser Cerberus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Burmy-gam
    Posts
    1,389
    FI definitely does not like running as shell. Trust me, been there done that. The
    paths just wont handle it. Just run it from a shortcut in your startup folder for
    best results.

    C

  3. #3
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8
    Hi Cerberus - thanks for the reply,


    I have tried running FI from the startup folder but it still gives the run-time error as per my first post.

    Anyone able to tell me what run time error '9' is? I'm guessing that something in the skin is not being loaded properly - really don't want to go back to RR after all this messing about!

  4. #4
    DC Organiser Cerberus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Burmy-gam
    Posts
    1,389
    I'd try a fresh install of flash player

    C

  5. #5
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8
    have already tried that - will give it another go tonight!
    Many thanks.

  6. #6
    Advanced Member wizz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Leicestershire UK
    Posts
    2,179
    Quote Originally Posted by mudplugger View Post
    have already tried that - will give it another go tonight!
    Many thanks.
    Make sure you install Flash via IE......
    Car : Ford Focus Zetec S 1.8
    Carpc :Lin-ITX Plus 7" touchscreen/Toad 8" roof screen
    Morex 3688 case/M2-ATX PSU/Commell V-672 P4 3.2Ghz/1024DDR2/40GB 2.5" SATA HDD/Sony DVD/CDRW
    BU353 GPS/Mercury 11b WiFi/Parking Sensors
    Colour I/R Reversing Camera

  7. #7
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8

    Angry

    Right this is starting to nark me now, so close to calling it a day and going back to RR:x

    Cleaned FI off the machine, removed Flash and re-installed (using IE and with no anti-virus installed), downloaded FI 1.92 from CDR's link to my docs and unzipped directly into c:\.

    FI runs perfect when started with from within the FI folder - so far, so good. Change the ini file to point to my media (on partition called d), still works dandy. Starting tothink I'm home dry I copy a Fi shortcut into start-up folder and re-boot..........


    aaahhhhhh - boots up with audio muted, touch any audio button and the same run time error '9'


    As before, runs fine when started from the FI folder but don't like being started by windows!

    I'm running out of ideas - any suggestions gratefully received.


    *edit*
    Right - now FI starts up with the error all the time, no matter where I start it from or even if I use a fresh copy of FI.
    Last edited by mudplugger; 28-10-2009 at 20:08.

  8. #8
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8
    Oh well........ RR it is then.

  9. #9
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8
    Oh well........ RR it is then.

  10. #10
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8

    Talking

    Well.... What a difference an evening makes. It would appear that over the course of the last few days I had managed to remove the motherboard sound driver. Having tracked down the appropriate download and installing the driver now FI runs like a dream!

    Have spent the evening playing with FI and am a very happy bunny.

    Must say a big thanks to all that have shared their wisdom and hardwork with us mere mortals! The results speak for themselves.

    Thanks peeps!

  11. #11
    Moderator CdRsKuLL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    http://www.freeice.co.uk
    Posts
    1,730
    glad you got it going m8 :-)

  12. #12
    Asleep Now
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    8
    thanks CdR -

    I knew it had to be hardware related as FI ran fine on my desktop machine!

    Just got to get my head around flash now:shock:

  13. #13
    Advanced Member wizz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Leicestershire UK
    Posts
    2,179
    Quote Originally Posted by mudplugger View Post
    Just got to get my head around flash now:shock:
    You and just about all the rest of us .......................
    Car : Ford Focus Zetec S 1.8
    Carpc :Lin-ITX Plus 7" touchscreen/Toad 8" roof screen
    Morex 3688 case/M2-ATX PSU/Commell V-672 P4 3.2Ghz/1024DDR2/40GB 2.5" SATA HDD/Sony DVD/CDRW
    BU353 GPS/Mercury 11b WiFi/Parking Sensors
    Colour I/R Reversing Camera

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HD Radio and freeice
    By bmo525i in forum FreeICE Frontend
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 09:55
  2. Best Sat Nav for use with Freeice?
    By kingdeacon in forum GPS
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 31-12-2008, 15:32
  3. FreeICE - Can't play OGG!
    By kill_dano in forum FreeICE Frontend
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-09-2008, 01:12
  4. AVG Free V8/FreeICE.exe
    By wizz in forum FreeICE Frontend
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18-08-2008, 08:09
  5. FreeICE crashing
    By barty78 in forum FreeICE Frontend
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 01:06

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •