PDA

View Full Version : learning to write software

mini
01-11-2005, 00:52
hello.

as far as i know software is basically witchcraft.

my company has provided me with Microsoft Visual studio .net 2003, included with that is visual basic that i once used and found it best to suit me

keep in mind that i am a complete novice at this, but i would love to learn how to use it.

unfortuantly i dont have time for collage so is there any good websites any of you know of that would help me to get started, how did you guys learn how to write software?

any help would be appreciated

Phil

Convinced that software is witchcraft!

Rob Withey
02-11-2005, 10:13
unfortuantly i dont have time for collage so is there any good websites any of you know of that would help me to get started
I have this book, it seems quite good, though I haven't had time to learn VB yet (I'm a C++/ASM coder most of the time):
http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0735620598/qid=1130922540/sr=8-15/ref=pd_ka_15/202-1751540-5483861

how did you guys learn how to write software?
Started writing software when I was 6, first ASM program when I was 11, first published program when I was 15, Software Engineering degree when I was 18-21, working professionally in the CAD/CAM and games industry for the last 11 years. So practice, practice and practice some more.

Rob

alanjonesbath
02-11-2005, 14:07
unfortuantly i dont have time for collage so is there any good websites any of you know of that would help me to get started, how did you guys learn how to write software?